The Annual General Meeting is the top most policy and decision making organ. It is organized annually and is open to all members.

Policy and administrative supervision is undertaken by an elected council made up of 22 eminent lawyers.

Programmatic and membership activities are carried out through committees appointed by the Council while implementation and co-ordination of day-day activities is undertaken by the Secretariat, headed by the Chief Executive Officer and based in Arusha – Tanzania.


The EALS Governing Council is the organization’s organ tasked with providing policy direction and oversight to the operations of the Society. The Council is headed by the President and has 22 members. The President's profile

Presidents profile

Mr. Richard Mugisha – Managing Partner, Trust Law Chambers, President, East Africa Law Society. Mr. Richard Mugisha is the Managing partner of Trust Law Chambers, one of the Leading Law Firms in Rwanda. He holds a Bachelor of Arts degree (BA), a Bachelor of Laws degree (LLB) from the University of Lesotho and Master of Laws (LLM.) from New York University.

Prior to establishing the firm in 2004, he was the Manager, Procurement Policy and Legal affairs at the Rwanda National Tender Board for over five years. He has led numerous Mergers and Acquisitions assignments, including transactional advice during most privatization exercises in Rwanda. His specialty is Banking, Finance, and Energy.

He is former Chairman of the Business Law Reform Commission which reviewed all legislation affecting the commercial environment in Rwanda and serves on various National Committees, foundations and Company Boards in Rwanda. In the academic domain, he has taught and conducted tutorials at the National University of Rwanda and Kigali Institute of Management, Science and Technology.

He is a native speaker of Kinyarwanda, has excellent command of English and a working knowledge of French. He is a member of the Rwanda Bar Association and the East African Law Society. He is also a fellow of the Africa Leadership Initiative and the Aspen Global Leadership Network.

Members of the Current Council (2016-2018)
  • 1. Mr. Richard Mugisha – President/RBA
  • 2. Ms. Anne Abeja - Vice President(Regional Integration)/ULS
  • 3. Ms. Maris Mbeneka - Vice President (Public Interest Advocacy)/LSK
  • 4. Mr. MussaKombo - Secretary General/ZLS
  • 5. Mr. AloysBahebe - Treasurer/TLS
  • 6. Mr. SalvotorKiyuku - Batonnier Burundi Bar Association
  • 7. Mr. JulienKavaruganda - Batonnier Rwanda Bar Association
  • 8. Mr. Francis Gimara - President Uganda Law Society
  • 9. Mr. Isaac E.N. Okero - President Law Society of Kenya
  • 10. Mr. Omar Said Shabaan - President Zanzibar Law Society
  • 11. Mr. Tundu M Lissu - President Tanganyika Law Society
  • 12. Ms. HarrietteChiggai - Deputy Secretary General/LSK
  • 13. Ms. Sarah Mhamilawa - Deputy Secretary General/TLS
  • 14. Diane Kagwiza - Deputy Treasurer/BBA
  • 15. Mr. Isaac Bakayana - Deputy Treasurer/ULS
  • 16. Mr. Edwin Tabaro - Council Member/ULS
  • 17. Ms. Sandra Rwamushaija - Council Member/RBA
  • 18. Mr. Rajab Abdalla - Council Member/ZLS
  • 19. Mr. Moses Mahuna - Resident Council Member/TLS
  • 20. Mr. David Njoroge - Council Member/LSK
  • 21. Mr. DieudonneBashirahishize - Council Member/BBA
  • 22. Mr. HanningtoneAmol - Chief Executive Officer/Ex-Officio member